Lessons in Humility

“Humility is the mother of giants. One sees great things from the valley; only small things from the peak.” — G. K. Chesterton

One of the most important things I’ve learned this week is I’m not so special, I’m not so different, and I may not be destined for great things. I am simply, me.

I grew up always feeling out of place, wondering what my purpose was, what I was meant to do with my life. I was never happy with where I was at the present moment. I was always using my time to think about the next step, the next move. Unfortunately this type of thinking caused the opposite reaction, nothing in my present life took on any significance.

We all struggle with the same battles, same emotions and same trials, in one fashion or another. We all will face situations that will make us laugh, make us cry, make us think and make us numb, from the homeless man on the corner to the richest man in the world.

We are not so different. We are not so special. We are who we are and appreciating that brings more significance than any achievement ever could.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

