Nostalgia

“So dawn goes down to day, nothing gold can stay.”

Lately I’ve been reflecting on the past. I don’t know why and I don’t know why these flashbacks are coming back to me now. I’ve been looking at pictures of myself, realizing how much my friends have changed, how much my hair has changed, how quickly time has gone by

Why is it so difficult to be happy with where we are now? Are we always looking for the next best thing? What happens when you do reach goals for yourself… what happens next? Fairy tales always end with happily ever after but it seems that no one ever explains how to achieve that happily ever after. We don’t ever seem to witness it because no one ever feels like they are at that point.

What if I had said yes to my 6th grade crush instead of running away scared as fast as I could. I saw him on TV the other day. He is now a successful actor. Just seeing him again was able to make me feel like I was back in 6th grade again. Longing for that innocence and naivety about the world.

The fact is, the life you had 10 years ago, 5 years ago, even yesterday, is not your life anymore. You are not the same person now you were even an hour ago. That hour has given you experiences and thoughts that have changed your perspective. The point is to move forward, not hold back. So although who we were yesterday makes us who we are today, we are undeniably different.

The comfort or haunting of nostalgic thoughts will always be there for us, yet our dependence or dwelling on what was is unavailing.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

